The Storms of Life

I’m a storm chaser, of sorts. No, I don’t chase thunderstorms or tornadoes. Part of being a pastor means I respond to the reports I hear about the storms of life the people of my church are facing — and I go there to be with them, in Jesus’ name.

Yes, I’m a storm chaser, but there are storms of life that I don’t have to chase because they’re my own, and they come to me!

Corrie ten Boom was a Dutch Christian who helped to hide Jews during the Holocaust. She and her sister Betsy were arrested for that and spent months in a concentration camp. Betsy died, but Corrie survived and went on to write and speak about the experience. There’s a classic quote of Corrie concerning those horrible times in the concentration camp, the worst of human storms: “No pit is so deep that God’s love is not deeper still.”

We could paraphrase this – No storm of life is so great that God’s presence and help is not greater still!

Going through a storm in life is no reason to believe that God doesn’t care. He doesn’t always keep us from the storms of life, but He promises to be with us as we go through them!

Jesus let His disciples enter a storm on the Sea of Galilee, but He was with them and stilled the storm. One of those in the boat with Jesus was the apostle Peter, who later wrote about how to relate to Jesus in stormy and anxious times. “Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” (1 Peter 5:7)

Leave a Reply

