Gursky and the Gospel

The image to the left is the most valuable photograph in the world. On November 8 it sold at Christie’s in New York for $4.3 million! It was taken by Andreas Gursky, a German visual artist, along the Rhine river. The image is a simple one, showing grass, a sidewalk, grass, water, grass and sky.

I regularly sell images on iStockphoto.com. They’re really picky about what images they select and half of those I submit are rejected. Sometimes they reject one of my images because “it lacks a center of interest.” I’ve included one of my images below that I feel is somewhat similar. I never submitted it to iStockphoto. I’m quite confident they’d reject it for lacking a center of interest.

Isn’t my image nearly as good as Gursky’s? So I’m missing the sidewalk and three strips of grass; deduct $3 million if you want. The bidding starts at $1 million. Do I hear $1 million, $1 million, do I hear $1 million? Do I hear $1.2 million, $1.2 million…? Guess not. I remove my precious photograph from the bidding process!

Obviously the photo experts know something I don’t know. Sometimes the average person has no conception, no appreciation for art, for what’s valuable. That’s why the Antiques Road Show works. Someone buys something cheap at a garage sale with neither the seller or buyer really knowing its value.

The Kingdom of God (God’s rule) is like this. Those who are serious followers of Jesus Christ have their value system turned upside down from the majority who haven’t made a conscious decision to live for Christ. “The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field. When a man found it, he hid it again, and then in his joy went and sold all he had and bought that field.” (Matthew 13:44) Much of what is of supreme importance to us is not of great value to the world, and much of what is of great value to the world is not of supreme importance to us. Amazing! I’ll have to admit that Gursky’s image illustrates the Gospel!

6 responses to “Gursky and the Gospel

  1. Joan December 2, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    I like yours better than Gursky’s, Dave! The various shades of blue complementing each other are awesome!

  2. Joan December 2, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    I also like your analogy to the Gospel!

  3. Warren Peace February 6, 2012 at 3:38 am

    You couldn’t misunderstand this art more. Your snapshot of the water is just that, a snapshot. It lacks the style of Gursky’s Rhine II, it doesn’t evoke the deep feelings you get when faced with a scene so classy and chic, yet also so alarmingly stark. Yours isn’t even stark, the lines of waves fail to line up with the horizon line like on Gursky’s.

    Finally, Gursky’s photo has nothing to do with the bible, nor does the fact that it sold for over $4M. You need to see it in person, the sheer size of the thing is meaningful in itself.

  4. Twyla Straight November 17, 2012 at 7:01 pm

    Very interesting info !Perfect just what I was searching for! “Outside of a dog, a book is man’s best friend. Inside of a dog it’s too dark to read.” by Groucho Marx.

  5. Taryn Gockerell November 19, 2012 at 10:08 am

    I really like looking at and I think this website got some truly utilitarian stuff on it! .

  6. Julius Rock November 26, 2012 at 5:07 pm

    I got everything you mean, thanks for placing. Woh I will be gladsome in summary this website through yahoo. Thanks With regard to Share Khmer Karaoke Celebrities .

Leave a Reply

