Photovotional — “Merry Moments”

I photographed this lit lamppost decorated for Christmas, and it almost didn’t happen! Diann and I were driving home from church when I spotted the lamppost festooned in all of its Christmas glory. I had my camera with me but I drove past, anxious to get home, then had second thoughts. I interrupted our conversation and said to Diann, “I saw something I better photograph.” I turned around in the next driveway and went back.

The snow was falling lightly, as you can see in the photo. It stuck to the bow. There was a window of the house that came into the picture, blurred and in the background – perfect! I took several pictures, taking maybe five minutes. Then we were on our way again. I’m so glad I took the time to stop; it’s one of my favorite images I’ve taken this year!

The experience reminds me that we have to embrace the moment, even in this busy time of year when Christmas preparations cram our days, and nights sometimes too! We can be so busy trying to have a Merry Christmas that we miss the merry in the moment! The five minutes it took to take my picture of the Christmas lamppost was well worth it. I don’t want to miss something else God has for me. His gifts are found wrapped in moments I can easily overlook. I need to pause and unwrap them!

So that your trust may be in the Lord, I teach you today, even you.” (the teacher to his student in Proverbs 22:19)

Leave a Reply

