Talking Jars of Clay

Max Lucado, Joyce Meyer, Robert Schuller, John MacArthur, Charles Stanley, and David Jeremiah are some of the favorite Christian communicators that people read, listen to, or watch. Many of the folks in the church I serve claim one of these as a favorite of theirs. I know there are also many who don’t regularly attend a church who follow the ministries of one or more of these Christian communicators.

Does it bother me? No. (I don’t think I’m lying here, hope not.) In fact, I have my own favorites.

I’ll admit it’s a bit tough competing with these celebrity communicators. When I speak before my congregation I have the home court disadvantage. The folks in my church know me too well, having been annoyed with me, disappointed in me, or mad at me at one time or another. The celebrity Christian communicator remains on a pedestal, above it all. We can give our full admiration to the person because he or she has never let us down personally or revealed a sinful side that’s disappointed us.

This is why it usually takes greater effort to hear God speak through a person we know personally, like a pastor of a local church, than it does from a celebrity Christian communicator. But it seems to me that we are letting God do a greater work in us when we hear Him communicate to us through the familiar and imperfect local preacher than through the celebrity communicator we’ve put on a pedestal. Could it be that our minds and hearts are more open to God when we’re extending grace and mercy to the human communicator rather than admiration and awe?

“But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us.” (The apostle Paul in 2 Corinthians 4:7)

10 responses to “Talking Jars of Clay

  1. Rachel January 18, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    I think you are a famous and great communicator. I would also say a “local celebrity” at Mayfair.
    Seriously, I learn more from you than anyone else.

  2. djclaassen January 19, 2012 at 12:18 pm

    Garsh! Thanks so much. You ARE kind! Dave

  3. a1472592 November 5, 2012 at 8:49 pm

    I’ve said that least 1472592 times. SCK was here

  4. This Site November 15, 2012 at 7:35 pm

    I’m typically to running a blog and i really respect your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your website and hold checking for new information.

  5. Lonnie Favreau November 21, 2012 at 10:27 am

    Terrific post but I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this subject? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Thank you!

  6. Stella Lazard November 21, 2012 at 11:49 am

    home within my house nevertheless i can practically accept a much less messy life style whether or not or not this ended up anything at all like sporting nominal jogging sneakers. In the side most of these standard running sneakers appear sneakily skinny as well as streamlined, even so they give almost everything your toes need to have to own without further cushioning. The structure allows you to management your typical electricity and likewise mobility although running. Your Adidas Adipure is created with stretching sheet merge to some ft . alongside with helps make utilization of tooled midsole-outsole creating. These attributes be certain you could use the boot during a lengthy run which they provide a suitable feeling. My preferred element with regards to minimal operating footwear is certainly not that is like We’re barefoot nonetheless the protection your boot supplies. I like the feeling but ‘m grateful towards the hard anatomically spherical outsole in which enables us cruise far more than sidewalk, course, rubble plus more. I wouldn’t need to complete that with barefeet, but it is basic over these coaching sneakers. Moreover they supply added traction for almost any terrain situation. They offer us the extra increase to go farther at the same time as enhance my very own jogging durations. I have located these sneakers are perfect for toes in numerous scenario. They’re delicate upon sore foot i may wear them to get a total day with no soreness. They’re going to support any foot in spite of no matter whether one particular typically demands special footwear or or else not on condition that they match to have the ability to also as mirror your wearer’s foot. My spouse and i exercising as soon as or two times per week plus they are long lasting adequate to always result in the trek with me. Regardless of whether Intending for a walk or instruction for the race, I normally don our reputable Adidas Adipure footwear. They could be modest working sneakers even so they offer a highest quantity of longevity and luxury. Route operating is beginning to turn into far more common then at any time also as novices could locate it much more thrilling and beneficial than typical street operating. Trail working can provide powerful cardiovascular coaching that a lot of path working can’t. Your inclining as well as descending proficient in trail working gives stretch of time and also resistance education which can gain body wanting unwanted fat decline alongside with muscle mass mass firming.

  7. Ned Heppel November 22, 2012 at 11:25 pm

    I’m really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one today..

  8. Kimberely Krieger November 24, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    Attending social get-togethers can be hard and in case you leave damp foggy foot songs when you wander, you will be the actual centre involving attraction and not for the right reasons. And thus, it’s of utmost importance that you find a solution. All these simple home remedies will help you receive results fast.

  9. Lecia Steininger November 24, 2012 at 4:25 pm

    Whats up! I simply would like to give an enormous thumbs up for the great information you could have here on this post. I might be coming again to your blog for extra soon.

  10. reduction park November 25, 2012 at 8:57 am

    I’ve been recently meditating on the very same factor personally recently. Happy to see an individual on the same wavelength! Nice article.

Leave a Reply

