More Than Meets The Eye

Fanny Crosby was a famous hymn writer. She was also blind her entire life. At age nine she penned this little poetic statement: “Oh, what a happy child I am, though I cannot see! I am resolved that in this world, contented I will be.” One could chalk up such optimism to the naivete of youth.

 

Years later, however, she stated, “It seemed intended by the blessed providence of God that I should be blind all my life. . . If perfect earthly sight were offered me tomorrow I would not accept it. I might not have sung hymns to the praise of God if I had been distracted by the beautiful and interesting things about me.” Fanny Crosby could see God working through her blindness. I suspect that she had better sight than we often do when it comes to seeing what God is up to!

 

With God there’s always more going on in our lives than meets the eye! We see our troubles as a hindrance to God’s unfolding plan, when in reality troubles are part of His plan! God knew before the creation of the world that it would end up being a fallen world, and He went ahead and created it anyway! God has factored in the fallenness of this world and has determined that it all will still work if we factor in faith!

 

“But blessed are your eyes because they see.” (Jesus in Matthew 13:16)

Leave a Reply

