Andy Williams

Singer and entertainer Andy Williams died. When anchor Scott Pelley announced his death on the CBS Evening News he made the observation that when they got the word in the newsroom everyone started singing Moon River, his signature song. MSN.com’s headline read “’Moon River’ crooner Andy Williams dies at age 84.” Andy Williams sang a great many other songs, and many of them were hits, but he will always be remembered for Moon River. Andy even named his theater in Branson, Missouri, The Moon River Theater.

I wonder what I’ll be remembered for when I die. How about you? What would be a short phrase you and I would like on our headstone? What would others put on our headstone? Would that be the same phrase, or different? What I’m suggesting is that it might be good to have a purpose for which we live. Companies and organizations often come up with a mission statement, same thing. What would be the mission statement for your life?

As a follower of Jesus Christ I want to follow His will for me, so the purpose, the mission statement, should be His calling on my life. I want my life to reflect what He wants me to be and what He wants me to do. I want this calling of His to be what people remember of me, what could go on my tombstone. What should that be for me? How about for you?

“I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received.” (the apostle Paul in Ephesians 4:1)

Leave a Reply

