Digging a Well in Your Desert

Quotable Quote

“Your task is to dig wells in your desert.”

Eugene Peterson

My brother Mark drills wells, water wells, for a living. I have one of his discarded drill bits –  it makes for a great paperweight, a really big and heavy paperweight!

Wherever people live they need water. Digging a well anywhere is challenging enough (that’s what my brother tells me) but to drill a well in a desert has got to be the greatest of all challenges.

We can all describe certain times in our lives that were desert experiences, times when life was dreary or even draining and there seemed to be little refreshment or renewal available. We can wish life were like a Garden of Eden where everything is lush and good. Someday, God promises us in His Bible, that the new heaven and new earth will be this way. But, for now, we live between that long ago Garden of Eden and that future new heaven and earth; for now we live in a fallen world that is often more like a desert than anything else.

People can find some measure of refreshment in a variety of ways – watch a movie, take a nap, solve a puzzle, watch sports, go out to eat, and the list goes on. Such efforts work, sort of.

There is, however, a way to dig wells in our deserts that really works. Jesus made it clear that our ultimate refreshment comes from the One who gave us life in the first place. Yes, the One who gave us life is the One who can refresh us in life. Jesus said to a woman with whom He had a conversation at a well, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” (John 4:13-14)

Here, then, is the way to look at it: When we invite Christ to be at the very center of our being, at the core of who we are, then He’s within us. We don’t have to go looking for renewed energy from somewhere else. He is our refreshment, re-hydrating us with Himself. He is our well within. Go deep with Him, again and again!

“Your task is to dig wells in your desert.”

4 responses to “Digging a Well in Your Desert

  1. Sources tell me November 13, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    I sorry for my English.I was just seeking this information for some time. After six hours of continuous Googling, finally I got it in your website. I wonder what’s the lack of Google strategy that do not rank this type of informative web sites in top of the list. Usually the top web sites are full of garbage.

  2. Maybell Guillet November 19, 2012 at 11:28 am

    hello!,I love your writing so much! percentage we communicate more about your post on AOL? I need an expert in this house to unravel my problem. Maybe that’s you! Taking a look forward to peer you.

  3. electronic cigarette November 25, 2012 at 12:01 am

    Very interesting info !Perfect just what I was searching for! “Justice delayed is justice denied.” by William Gladstone.

  4. Keenan November 26, 2012 at 4:50 am

    Hey! I just discovered your webpage: Faith Reflections » Blog Archive » Digging a Well in Your Desert when I was exploring digg.com. It looks as though someone enjoyed your blog so much they decided to bookmark it. I’ll definitely be coming here more often.

Leave a Reply

