Doing FOR God vs. Being WITH God

Phil Vischer is best known for being the creator of Veggie Tales, which are videos for children based on talking vegetables including Larry the Cucumber. Veggie Tales became a huge success. Vischer had visions of building a Christian version of Walt Disney Studios with his Big Ideas company. Then things went terribly wrong with the huge investment that he put into his biggest production, Jonah, and he went bankrupt. Deeply humbled, he was open to what God wanted to teach him.

Author Skye Jethani quotes Vischer: “The more I dove into Scripture, the more I realized I had been deluded. I had grown up drinking a dangerous cocktail – a mix of the gospel, the Protestant work ethic, and the American dream . . . . The Savior I was following seemed, in hindsight, equal parts Jesus, Ben Franklin, and Henry Ford. My eternal value was rooted in what I could accomplish.” (WITH, Skye Jethani, eBook loc. 1275)

The fact is that our first calling isn’t to do things for God; our first calling is to be with Him. However, we’re continually tempted to confuse our priorities. We can get so caught up in trying to do things for God that we neglect focusing on what’s most important, being with God.

Phil Vischer discovered that a personal connection with God is to be sought first, before accomplishments for God. I too want to grasp this truth.

“My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God?” (Psalm 42:2)

Leave a Reply

