Living Within Limitations

“I thank God for my handicaps.
Through them I have found myself, my work and my God.”
Helen Keller

Not many would envy Helen Keller’s situation. She was blind, deaf, and mute. Yet, she was thankful for her handicaps. I doubt if many would have heard of Helen Keller except for her handicaps and her positive response to her handicaps; I certainly wouldn’t be writing about her inspiring life! Her handicaps kept her from living an ordinary life.

Helen Keller’s handicaps helped define her life. What she did in life was the result of what she could not do! The truth is that God guides as much by closing doors as He does by opening doors. There’s been more than one tourist who found an out-of-the-way place of interest after having been forced to take a detour. On the journey of life God often does the same with us. His best for us is often found in places we would not have gone by our own choice.

Talk about closed doors, the apostle Paul wrote some of his best material while behind locked prison doors, material that ended up in our Bibles in what are called the prison epistles. Then there were the roadblocks Paul and his friends experienced while traveling around spreading the gospel. “Paul and his companions traveled throughout the region of Phrygia and Galatia, having been kept by the Holy Spirit from preaching the word in the province of Asia. When they came to the border of Mysia, they tried to enter Bithynia, but the Sprit of Jesus would not allow them to. So they passed by Mysia and went down to Troas.” (Acts 16:6-8)

As we face a new year it’s good for us to remember that this new year, like every other year, will have limitations it imposes upon us. We need to move beyond seeing only the negative side of handicaps, setbacks, failures, hurts, and disappointments. By them God is often defining His call for how we are to carry out His purposes for us!

“I thank God for my handicaps.
Through them I have found myself, my work and my God.”

Leave a Reply

