Wisdom for Living

wisdomA man was walking along a California beach when he came upon an old lamp. He picked it up, thought for a moment, and then rubbed it. POOF! Out came a genie. The genie said, “OK, you released me from the bottle. This is the fourth time this month, and I’m tired of granting wishes. You only get one wish.”

The man said, “I’ve always wanted to go to Hawaii, but I’m afraid of boats and planes, so could you create a bridge from here to Hawaii?”

The genie said, “Are you kidding? Do you know how far that is? It would take huge amounts of concrete and steel. Come up with an easier wish for me to grant.”

The man thought and then said, “I’ve been married and divorced several times. I’ve dated a lot, too. All the women have complained that I don’t understand them. My wish is that I would know what they’re thinking, know why they’re crying, and know when I should say something and when I should say nothing.”

The genie thought for a moment, and then he said, “Do you want that bridge two lanes or four?”

What would you ask for if a genie could grant you one wish? Let me rephrase the question, because we believe in God, not genies. If God asked what you would like Him to grant you, what would you ask for? That’s a very thought-provoking question, isn’t it?

There was a man who was asked that question by God. He was Solomon, the third king of the nation of Israel, the son of King David and Queen Bathsheba.

Solomon asked for wisdom. It was a wise choice for Solomon to ask for wisdom! Because Solomon had asked for a gift from God to benefit other people instead of himself, God also promised to bless Solomon in many other ways, and He did.

We can have a lot of knowledge but still lack wisdom, which is the right use of knowledge. What challenges are we facing? What decisions need to be made? How are we to plan for the future? We need wisdom from God! Let’s pray Solomon’s prayer.

“Lord, give me a wise and discerning heart.” (1 Kings 3:9)

 

Leave a Reply

