Photovotional — End of the Rainbow

RainbowEndSmallMy wife Diann and I were recently in Mexico visiting our daughter and her family. It was a difficult time because our five year old grandson Danny had just been through major open heart surgery to repair his heart that was missing a left ventricle. We were at Refuge Ranch, taking care of their other 17 children when we saw this rainbow. It was one of those rare times when it was close enough to see the end of the rainbow, within walking distance, just down the hill in the nearby small valley. Diann was wondering if we could experience being in the rainbow if we walked down there. I, being the one with the interest in such scientific things, said that likely not; we would not be at the proper angle to see the refraction of light that causes the rainbow.

“God is a God of promises,” Diann said in a soft, emotion-filled voice. I agreed. After the flood of Noah’s time God designated the rainbow as a sign and reminder of His promise to never again cause a world-wide catastrophic flood. In our case we didn’t take it to mean God was promising us that everything would come out well for Danny. We, however, did see the rainbow as a reminder that God is a God of many promises, and He keeps them! One of those promises — “God has said, ‘Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.'” (Hebrews 13:5)  I’ll be the first to confess that, though I believe this promise, I don’t always feel His presence in as vivid a way as I would like to, especially when I’m in the midst of a troubling situation. Oftentimes it’s only with 20/20 hindsight, when I get some distance from the situation, that I realize that the Lord was with me. (Note to self: remember that the Lord God is with me even when I don’t feel Him with me, because I will likely determine that He was, after the fact.)

Yes, we could have walked to the end of that rainbow, but we wouldn’t have felt it’s multicolored brilliance surrounding us. The presence of God is like that. It takes faith to believe that we are always living at the end of the rainbow of God’s presence!

Leave a Reply

