The Bible as a MIrror

BibleMirrorSome of my photos are of subjects as I find them. Other photos take some effort to set up, as is the case with this image. I glued a mirror in a Bible, angled it just right so that my reflection is clearly seen. My wife Diann, who I “volunteered” to help me, then took the picture.

The message I wanted to communicate is the importance of seeing God’s Word as acting like a mirror. When we reflect upon it (pun intended), we see ourselves as we really are.

Most of us know how to use a mirror. We look into the mirror, see ourselves, and try to make the appropriate adjustments to our appearance. There’s no sense looking in a mirror if we’re not willing to change what we see.

The same principle applies to looking at God’s Word. It’s meant to be transformational. That’s what the apostle James stated. Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says.Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like someone who looks at his face in a mirror and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like.”(James 1:22-24)

Frankly, this is why I’m sometimes tempted in my early morning reading time to pick up one of my favorite magazines, Popular Science, instead of the Bible. Popular Science isn’t a catalyst for changing me as is the Bible, and I don’t always like to change! So, I resist the temptation at that moment (there will be time later in the day for Popular Science) and open up The Good Book anyway.

Reflecting is a good way to put it when we read something in the Bible. Lectio Divina is reflective reading, Lectio Divina being Latin for divine reading. It’s the careful and prayerful reading of God’s Word that helps us connect with God and be impacted by Him.

You’re probably in the midst of a busy day right now, so you might have to put this kind of reflective reading off until you have time to… reflect. But humor me and take just one minute and do some reflecting on this opening statement from the Twenty-Third Psalm, for just one minute.

“The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.”

What characteristic(s) of a shepherd come to mind when you think of sheep that lack nothing? How might God be like such a shepherd to you right now?

God’s desire is to communicate with us and to have His connecting with us make a difference in our lives. How amazing is that? Worth reflecting on, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

