My Spiritual Journey

SpiritualPathlMeetingIf you want to take a trip what steps are involved in going on that journey? How about a spiritual journey, a pilgrimage to becoming God’s person and living for Him? What steps might this involve? I‘d like to suggest five steps I’ve identified in my own spiritual journey of following Christ. The five steps?

Meeting Christ
Jesus meets us where we are. He’s the rescuer, and we need to be rescued. We depend on the grace and mercy of God for His forgiveness and acceptance.

Following Christ
Christ meets us where we are, but He doesn’t leave us there! “Follow me” was Jesus’ frequent invitation to people. Following Christ and His will for us means that we can’t give in to our own whims and follow our own wishes but yield to His will and to His ways.

Learning from Christ
Leaving our belief in the Lord in some kind of vague and nebulous realm will not result in a close, warm, and dynamically alive relationship with Him. Intentional learning about Him is key.

Becoming like Christ
We’re not supposed to just learn about Jesus. That knowledge is to mold and change us.

Serving with Christ
Some of my fondest memories of my father are working alongside him on the farm. The Lord is calling us to serve alongside Him; the whole time He’s carrying the bulk of the work load.

I’ve discovered that meeting Christ, following Christ, learning from Christ, becoming like Christ, and serving with Christ are the five keys to my journey as a disciple of Jesus. I feel I’d be unkind if I didn’t invite you to this journey with Jesus!

“Blessed are those whose strength is in you, who have set their hearts on pilgrimage.” (Psalm 84:5)

(I have a short video on my web site that describes these five facets of a journey with Jesus. There’s also a 31 day devotional displayed on the page.  You can order a paperback or e-book version from Amazon.)

Leave a Reply

