God, Duct Tape, and WD-40

DuckWD40SmallPictured is the duct tape and WD-40 on my work bench. When things are broken or torn I reach for the duct tape. When things squeak or turn hard I reach for the WD-40. I always keep my duct tape and WD-40 handy. Skye Jethani, in his book With: Reimaging the Way You Relate to God, refers to a friend who says we can see God as a duct tape/WD-40 combo pack. Well, I do need God, even more than I need my duct tape/WD-40 combo pack! I identify with the psalmist who declared, My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.” (Psalm 121:2) There is no greater source of help than the Lord, but He’s to be so much more than my Great Helper!

What do we think of a friend, co-worker, or family member who only connects with us when he or she needs something? We feel used. We want to be valued for who we are, not just for what we can do; it’s foundational to any healthy relationship, including our relationship with God.

This means my going to God in prayer should involve so much more than asking Him for help. I should praise Him for His qualities, His attributes that I appreciate, such as His power, His love, His wisdom, etc. I can also thank Him for what He’s done for me in the past. Confessing to Him that which alienates me from Him is also good to do. Sometimes the best praying happens when we don’t come to Him with any agenda other than wanting to make Him the primary focus of our thoughts for a few moments.

God wants to be more than a duct tape/WD-40 combo pack in our lives. We open up ourselves to the greatest pleasure and delight when we seek to draw near to the Lord for who He is rather than just for what He can do for us.

“My soul yearns for you in the night; in the morning my spirit longs for you.” (Isaiah 26:9)

Leave a Reply

