Bees, Blue Flowers, and God’s Timing

beeonbluesmallOur daughter Julie, who along with her husband is a missionary in Mexico, recently wrote a blog from which I want to quote in part. “Do you know what time the bees wake up? I do! 7:36 a.m. I will explain. In November, on my daily morning walk around the ranch, I get to go through a purple tunnel created by several beautiful blue bushes! The bees LOVE these flowers! Well, when I started my walk at 7:15 a.m. this morning, there were no bees buzzing! But as I went back around by the bushes, several loops later, at 7:36 a.m. they were awake. Just in case you ever wondered what time bees get up in the morning!”

After Julie posted this blog entry I photographed the bees at the blue bushes, after 7:15 a.m. Julie’s observation of the bees’ schedule is a reminder that all of life is on a schedule. For the bees, and all other of God’s creatures, except for people, the schedules are pretty much set by instinct. The busy bee shows up at the flower when instinct prompts the bee to do so, on the days the flower is in bloom and when the temperature warms enough for bees to be out and about.

Not so with us humans. We can set our own schedules. We’ve been given the freedom of choice.

However, God has His plans for us, His “schedule,” if you want to call it that. We can use our God-given freedom to follow His will, His “schedule” for us or not. No, we’re not designed to be motivated by instinct, but we are designed to be obedient, obedient to God.

A good prayer for our daily schedule could go something like this: “Lord, what would you have me think? What would you have me say? What would you have me do? Help me to be open to your leading today. Amen.”

Teach me to do your will, for you are my God;…(Psalm 143:10a🙂

Leave a Reply

