Help with Building a Pond

pondleakSmall

I tried building a decorative pond by myself, and failed. The first photo is of me sitting sadly in my failed pond. I’m sitting in the pond because there’s no water in it, and there’s no water in it because it leaked! I was building the pond in Mexico, where we live half the time with our missionary daughter and her family. I couldn’t find a thick plastic liner for the pond and settled for a piece of thin plastic. It quickly developed a leak.

I decided to make the pond out of concrete. At the time we had a man, Marco, building a small home for us on the property. I asked him to take a short break from working on our house and help me lay the concrete for my pond, which he and one of his workers did. They’re pictured with me in the second photo.

pondmakersSmall

Thanks to their help, it turned out really nice, as shown in the third photo. Sometimes you just have to ask for help.

PondSmall

As I see it, asking for help has at least three really positive effects. First, we get something accomplished we probably couldn’t do on our own, or it at least would take much longer. Second, it makes us into a more humble person to ask for help. Third, the other person feels important because we need their help and so we’ve helped build their self-esteem.

Of course we have to get beyond seeing it as a sign of weakness to ask for help. It actually takes a very big person to admit they need help. People won’t think less of us but will admire us all the more!

All in all, it’s good to ask for help. I sure am glad I did, otherwise I would have ended up with nothing but a hole in the ground instead of a nice pond!

“Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.” (Ecclesiastes 4:12)

Leave a Reply

