Live Long and Prosper… for The Lord

VulcanSaluteSmallIt was the Vulcan Mr. Spock in the Star Trek sagas who held up a hand with a separation between the middle finger and the ring finger and said, “Live long and prosper,” the Vulcan salute. Off and on I pray a variation of this, “Lord, help me to live long and prosper…for You!”

I added to the Vulcan salute the idea that I would prosper…for the Lord! After all, the Lord may not want me to prosper in the ways I usually think of prospering: health, wealth, fame, power, or achievements. Many times God has used tragedies, pain, suffering, and even death to move His purposes forward. At the end of the day this is the kind of prospering I want, to move God’s kingdom forward. We’re reminded of this ideal objective for our lives when we pray the phrase Jesus gave us in what we call The Lord’s Prayer, “Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven…” Yes, I want His will to prosper.

The part of the Vulcan salute I leave unedited is the first part, “…live long…” I’d like to live long, so I ask the Lord for this blessing every so often. I do so, however, realizing He’s in charge of the length of my life and that it’s not up to me to decide (other than eating bran muffins to do my part).

Many great people of tremendous influence for good have died young and many others never reached their prime until they were old people. There’s no rhyme or reason to God’s methods, that we can figure out, we just have to trust Him for the length of our days. As a photographer I took a picture of a hand held out in the Vulcan salute, but I made it a Christian salute by strategically putting a cross in the background, symbolizing that our wishes have to yield to His will.

“My times are in your hands;” (Psalm 31:15)

Leave a Reply

