The Fence Along the Field of Faith

FenceSittingSmallI’m amazed how many things I use with great confidence in my daily life without fully understanding how they work. I use a cell phone, tablet, and computer without knowing much at all about the miniature electronic marvels crammed into each of these devices. I drive a car which I could never fix were it to break down. I fly in a plane and have no idea all of the parts it takes to keep it airborne. I don’t even understand all of the principles of physics that keeps the chair I’m presently sitting in from collapsing under me, and yet I didn’t hesitate to sit in it. I don’t have the slightest clue as to how my brain lets me think about such things, and yet I think about them!

We act decisively all the time, acting in faith in all kinds of ways in spite of not fully understanding everything about anything! Why is it, then, that we can use our inability to fully understand God or His ways as an excuse for not acting decisively in seeking to be His person and doing His will?

There seems to be a growing number of people who call themselves agnostics, meaning they aren’t sure of much of anything about God. The fact is, we’re all pretty much “agnostics” when it comes to most of everything in life, not understanding a whole lot about anything, like electronic devices, cars, planes, the physics of chairs, or how we think.

Agnosticism, it seems to me, is the ultimate example of fence sitting. In all the important areas and issues of our lives we eventually have to come off from the fence, in an act of faith, onto one side or another. Whether or not God exists is the biggest issue we can address in our whole existence! Why shouldn’t we give our greatest effort to come to a conclusion on this ultimate subject?

Can anyone ever be absolutely certain beyond a shadow of a doubt of God’s existence? I don’t think so. That’s where faith comes in. Faith is always built on doubt. If there’s no room for doubt what you have is a fact that doesn’t require faith to believe. Faith acts in spite of not having all the information or proof we’d like to have. That’s why I can use my electronic devices, drive a car, fly in a plane, sit in this chair, think, and have a relationship with God!

No one can sit on a fence forever. Eventually we come down on one side or the other. If we don’t decide for God and act decisively on that determination then we come down on the other side of the fence, living as practicing atheists, living as if God doesn’t exist. No decision is a decision!

The ultimate fence divides two fields, the field of doubt and the field of faith. Now in my mid-sixties, I can say that I long ago came down off the fence on the side of faith. I’m glad I did!

“Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.” (Hebrews 11:1)

Leave a Reply

