“Things” Don’t Last

ThingsSmallI recently tossed two radio-controlled toy aircraft in the garbage can, a large helicopter and a mini quad copter. I had some fun with each, but eventually both malfunctioned and my aircraft maintenance skills weren’t up to the challenge of getting them airborne again. After unceremoniously dumping them in the garbage can I reminisced about my delight when each had been delivered to my front door from Amazon and how I had carefully removed each from their box with great anticipation of the good times I was going to have flying them.

The two toys in the trash reminded me all over again that things don’t last. I’ve also been reminded of this truth whenever I see a truck carrying a dozen or so squashed old cars pancaked on top of each other on their way from the junkyard to the recycling facility. Each of those vehicles had, at one time, been driven off a dealership lot by a proud and excited owner breathing in the new car aroma.

Don’t get me wrong. It’s not that “things” are bad. They aren’t. It’s just that we often depend too much on possessions to provide pleasure. We can possess possessions, but the danger is that they can possess us!

God’s put us in a real world where we are to build, use, work with, and play with tangible objects such as houses, cars, lawnmowers, TVs, toasters, boats, and hundreds of other items. But my tossed toys reminded me yet again that our “stuff” is to be a part of our lives, not the essence of our lives.

God is the ultimate giver of all our possessions. We’re to see them as gifts from Him, give thanks to Him for them, and keep them in proper perspective; but our greatest delight is to be found in the Gift Giver Himself!

“Don’t store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” (Jesus in Matthew 6:19-21)

Leave a Reply

