The Right Place, The Right Time, The Right Thing Story 2

mexicanfarmersmallI was taking a walk on my usual trail up the hill from Refuge Ranch in Mexico where we live half the time. I had just met and passed the elderly Mexican man on his horse (pictured here working his field, from an earlier time). I frequently meet him, for he lives in a small adobe house just off the path. I don’t see electrical wires strung to his house, so he’s a man who lives off the grid and, as far as I can tell, alone.

After passing him I glanced back to have another look at my mountain man acquaintance. Just then his horse startled, bucked, and threw his rider to the ground! I quickly ran to him and knelt down on one knee. He was lying on his back, dazed. “Okay? Okay?” I asked, not knowing enough Spanish to communicate my concern any other way. I reached over and retrieved his cowboy hat that had landed a couple of feet away. His horse had run down a side trail. I pointed in the direction I had last seen his horse and said, “Caballo,” which is Spanish for horse (this much Spanish I know). He seemed okay so I set out to retrieve his horse. I ran a few hundred yards but saw no sign of the animal. The man was now on his feet and staggering toward me. We walked together for a few steps and then he said, “Gracias,” which means “thanks” so I took that to mean he was okay and could work at retrieving his horse on his own.

A week later I saw the man again, sitting along the trail near his house, methodically sharpening his machete. His horse was grazing nearby. Again, I said, “Okay?” He nodded and said, “Gracias.”

Living alone out in the middle of nowhere I suspect I had shown him more genuine concern than anyone has had opportunity to show him in a long time, and it was an Americano, no less!

I reflected on this episode and realized all over again that God has us

in the right place

at the right time

to do the right thing.

It’s a wonderful way to live, with the daily expectation that as we go here, there, and back again with places to go, people to see, and things to do that the Lord will have us

in the right place

at the right time

to do the right thing.

“Teach me to do your will, for you are my God; may your good Spirit lead me on level ground.” (Psalm 143:10)

Leave a Reply

