Plant of Perseverance

perseveranceplantsmallNext to the steps of our house is a large rock. Growing out of a nearly invisible crack in the rock is a small plant bursting with tiny bright blossoms. The little seed from which it came didn’t have deep rich soil surrounding it, only a crack in a rock with a dusting of dust. But the seed germinated, grew, and, in spite of far from ideal conditions, grew some more until it bloomed. Its presence silently shouts out an all important life principle: PERSEVERANCE!

I was fortunate to have grown up on an Iowa farm where I learned about perseverance. I remember starting the job of cleaning out the animal waste from a large cattle pen thinking the task would take forever. I had no choice but to stick to the task and, sure enough, eventually it was done. I also remember starting to till a large field with an “M” Farmal tractor and a two-bottom plow. After the first few rounds it seemed as though I had turned such a small portion of earth in the field that I thought I’d never see the end of it. But, around and around I went and eventually I finished plowing the field.

I found this quote from the television show Family Matters. “You can’t go through life quitting everything. If you’re going to achieve anything, you’ve got to stick with something.” Albert Einstein said, “It’s not that I’m so smart, it’s just that I stay with problems longer.” We may think something is going to take a long time but, as Earl Nightingale wrote, “Don’t let the fear of the time it will take to accomplish something stand in the way of your doing it. The time will pass anyway; we might just as well put that passing time to the best possible use.”

The little plant in the crack of the rock just beyond our front door was a tiny seed that held its ground! It persevered until it became a blooming success! There’s a lesson there!

“Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” James 1:4

Leave a Reply

