The Temptation of Twinkies

twinkiessmallI like Twinkies a lot, the golden little cakes with the creamy filling. We divide our time between living near our son and family in Florida and our daughter and family in Mexico. Recently, when we were living at our place in Mexico, I had a real hankering for Twinkies. There are several little “in and out” markets, for lack of a better word, in the nearby village of Cuecuecuatitla. I drove up and down the hilly streets stopping at each little market. No Twinkies. I’ve tried the Bimbo brand of a similar product, but it lacks sufficient creamy white filling to satisfy; they just don’t measure up to Twinkies. Finally, I found a place near where I drive our granddaughter to her school that has Twinkies, though they spell it Tuinky.

I partly blame my fixation with Twinkies on early imprinting. I grew up watching the children’s program Howdy Doody which was sponsored by Twinkies. Uncle Bob, the host, would display a plate of Twinkies with one cut in half, and with a pencil-like pointer he would make sure we kids didn’t miss seeing the delectable creamy white center. I’ve been hooked ever since.

However, as much as I like Twinkies, I resist the temptation to eat them on a regular basis. I don’t like admitting it, but they’re NOT a health food!

Resisting the temptation to eat Twinkies is no earth-shattering struggle that will prompt an apocalyptic tragedy in the world, or even my life, if I fail. Yet, if I ate them daily, I’m sure it would have a negative effect on my health. This little struggle can be a reminder, maybe even a metaphor, of the struggles with temptations that, if not resisted, can result in serious negative ramifications for us and those within our sphere of influence.

I could list techniques, methods, and approaches for dealing with temptation, but that’s fodder for another article. Suffice it to say for this short reflection that there are boundaries we must continually set for ourselves.

The fact is, we have to do more than say “yes” to that which is good. We must also say “no” to those things that aren’t good. Resisting temptation should not be seen as a negative concept but a positive one. Saying “no” to something can mean saying “yes” to something better. When I pass the Tuinky or Twinkies on the shelf at the store I’m reminded of this!

“Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.” (The words of Jesus in Matthew 26:41)

Leave a Reply

