Two Roads

On my daily walk while living in rural Mexico I frequently come to a point in the path where it diverges into two paths. Because I can’t head off in both directions at the same time I have to choose one or the other.

On the path of our journey of life we’re always coming to places where the path splits into two, sometimes three or more directions. We call these decisions. Each day we face many forks in the road, most of them seemingly small. Few of them, however, are completely inconsequential. The big picture of how life turns out for us is almost always the accumulation of how we decide to play out the little scenes in our lives.

True, sometimes life forces us down a certain path. However, even when we have no choice as to what happens to us or what others do to us we still have the choice of how we will respond to it.

Then sometimes, too, we try to put off making a choice. The truth is that making no choice is a choice in and of itself and has ramifications!

The diverging paths I come upon on my daily walks often remind me of the famous poem by Robert Frost. He also came upon a path that diverged into two and wrote a poem about it titled “The Road Not Taken.” The concluding lines of the poem go like this:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference.”

Jesus talked about the choice between taking the wide way or the narrow way. In other words, we can follow the whims and wishes of our heart’s desire and that leaves us with many options, a wide way to go. Jesus, on the other hand, frequently gave the invitation to people He met along the way, “Follow me.” Following His will definitely narrows our options considerably! I decided years ago to follow His way and not my own. Although I’ve done so very imperfectly, by His grace I can say that doing so “has made all the difference.”

“Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.” (Matthew 7:13-14)

Leave a Reply

