Painting a Door

I recently painted two doors in our home, but I have to confess I didn’t paint the top or bottom edges. The way I see it, no one ever sees those edges! To do the top edge I would have had to get a stepping stool; too much work. To do the bottom edge I would have had to remove the door; way too much work. Only the flies will see the top edge and only the crickets will see the bottom edge, and as far as I can tell they don’t have any aesthetic sense anyway.

I will admit I feel a bit guilty over the unpainted edges. I have a faint recollection of the famous painter/sculptor Michelangelo’s response to someone asking him why he was working so hard on a part of a painting or sculpture (don’t remember which) that no one would ever see. He is reported to have said, “I see it and God sees it.” Ouch!

Okay, so it doesn’t really matter if I paint the top and bottom edges of the doors or not. There are times, however, many times, when it is important to give attention to the hidden parts of life.

What we think and do when we we are reasonably certain no one will find out reveals our true nature and character. So, does it really matter? Certainly, and for a couple of reasons.

First of all, a lot which was to remain hidden, doesn’t! How many tragic headlines of a person’s moral failing started out as a thought or hidden set of actions by the person!

Secondly, as Michelangelo reportedly said, God sees it! Even though no one can read our thoughts, and even though no one may be around to see our actions, God is inside our head and is our audience of One.

I’m okay with not painting the top or bottom edge of a door. When it comes to other areas of my life, however, those are another story!

“For there is nothing hidden that will not be disclosed, and nothing concealed that will not be known or brought out into the open.” (Luke 8:17)

Leave a Reply

