The Old and Slow Way with Bread, Ice Cream, Popcorn, and Life

OldWaysSmall

I like using our bread machine, ice cream maker, and stove top/crank popcorn popper. They’re the old fashioned way of making bread, ice cream, and popcorn, and that’s part of their charm.

Okay, I’ll admit bread machines are not really old fashioned, they’re electric and do a lot of the work on their own. I’ve made bread the really old fashioned way, from scratch, kneading the dough by hand so, yes, the bread machine is a compromise between a handmade loaf and a loaf purchased in a store.

The ice cream maker isn’t an antique either, it’s also electric, so it does the turning and churning of the cream. We had an old fashioned crank ice cream maker when I was a child, and I didn’t want to go back to cranking for an hour to get my ice cream so, yes, another compromise.

The popcorn popper, though a recent gift to me by my wife, is really old fashioned. It heats the popcorn on the stove, and you have to crank it when the popcorn starts popping.

The use of these older methods requires more time and effort than taking the modern short cuts of buying bread and ice cream and microwaving the popcorn. I would argue, however, that there’s something pleasurable about occasionally taking the extra time and effort to do things the old fashioned way.

An added benefit for me in using these older, time consuming methods is that in doing so I model how God often works. Am I saying God is old fashioned? Well, He is older than dirt; in fact, He made dirt. God never changes; He’s the same today as He was a billion years ago so, in a sense, I guess you could say He’s old fashioned.

Throughout the historical record of God dealing with human beings, the Bible, it’s clear that God often does take considerable time to unfold His will. He also involves the inefficient participation of people.

There are few short cuts to carrying out God’s plans for us. Time and effort, that’s what it usually takes to fulfill God’s purposes and claim His promises.

“The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness.” (2 Peter 3:9)

 
Leave a Reply

