The Alphabet of Faith — “I” Is for “Inspiration”

We’ve come to the letter “I” in our Alphabet of Faith series. Drum roll please!

“I” is for Inspiration.

I hope this piece of writing is inspiring to you. What do I mean by that? I want it to lift you up, to have you be moved in a positive way.

We’re attracted to that which is inspiring. We want to walk away from something and be able to say, “That was inspiring!” Yes, we like to be inspired. We also like to be inspiring.

To be inspired is to be taken out of the ordinary. Perhaps more accurately it means to have the extraordinary put inside of us, for to be inspired can mean to breathe in, just as to expire can mean to breathe out. Another way to put it is to say that to inspire means to breathe life into something.

The fact that to inspire and to breathe have the same basic meaning is why the King James version of 2 Timothy 3:16 reads, “All scripture is given by inspiration of God” while the New International Version reads “All Scripture is God-breathed.” It’s the same idea. The Bible, God’s Word, is from Him, God breathed, God inspired.

When we’re open to God’s presence and influence in our lives we open ourselves up to being inspired by Him. A good prayer for inspiration would be to pray, “Lord, give me your thoughts to think, your words to say, and your actions for me to carry out. Lord, inspire me today, this is what I pray.”

5 responses to “The Alphabet of Faith — “I” Is for “Inspiration”

  1. Taylor Hollinrake November 17, 2012 at 12:56 pm

    Thanks for sharing excellent informations. Your website is so cool. I am impressed by the details that you have on this blog. It reveals how nicely you perceive this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for more articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found simply the info I already searched everywhere and just couldn’t come across. What a perfect web-site.

  2. Aron Vences November 23, 2012 at 10:32 pm

    I will immediately take hold of your rss as I can not find your e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you have any? Please permit me know so that I could subscribe. Thanks.

  3. Francoise Verrier November 25, 2012 at 7:35 am

    Attending social get togethers can be hard in case you leave soaked foggy foot songs when you walk, you will be your centre connected with attraction yet not for the right factors. And thus, it can be of utmost importance which you find a solution. These simple homemade remedies will help you receive results very quickly.

  4. Wanda Rodriquez November 26, 2012 at 2:02 am

    Participating in social meetings can be hard and in case you leave damp foggy foot rails when you stroll, you will be the centre involving attraction and not for the right good reasons. And thus, it is of utmost importance that you find a solution. These simple home made remedies will help you acquire results very intense.

  5. Nikon v2 November 26, 2012 at 6:22 pm

    I’m not real superb with English but I find this real easy to comprehend .

Leave a comment